Restorative Yoga


This class is taught by:

Gerard Samson

Gerry Samson’s relationship with yoga has been an evolving and life-altering experience. Gerry rowed through college and devoted much of his body and time to the sport. Weight lifting and long training hours left his body broken down, and aches and pains developed, which followed him beyond college graduation. He began attending occasional community classes, but yoga felt contentious at first; the asana practice of yoga seemed out of reach for his body. However, as Gerry’s body began to accept his asana practice and he began to reap its benefits, yoga became a necessary part of his life. This love lead him to Ame Wren’s teacher training at Boston Yoga School, where he completed his 200-hour certification.

 

Gerry graduated with a B.A. in psychology and philosophy, and throughout college worked with children of various educational needs. When he graduated, he sought to keep working with children with special needs. During the day, he is a behavioral therapist for children with autism at a small special education school. He has found that yoga helps his students focus better throughout their day, and gives them an opportunity for body exploration that they don’t get in a regular school day. Just as yoga helped bring Gerry comfort in his own body, he hopes that by sharing yoga with kids and encouraging their own exploration of movement, they can become comfortable and confident in themselves.

 

Gerry aims to teach well-aligned postures throughout a thoughtful vinyasa sequence. He likes to take his time in his practice, exploring new movements and ways to experience a pose. His yoga is influenced by his teachers Ame Wren, Peter Crowley, and Nicole Clark, who are constantly changing his yoga experience.

In this class, students will focus on longer-hold postures that are supported by bolsters, blankets, and yoga blocks to help sustain them. This class aids in slowing down, restoring the body’s natural rhythms, and physically and mentally grounding.

Upcoming classes:

  • Thu Aug 16 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Gerard Samson
    at Brookline
  • Thu Aug 23 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Gerard Samson
    at Brookline
  • Thu Aug 30 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Gerard Samson
    at Brookline
  • Thu Sep 06 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Gerard Samson
    at Brookline
  • Thu Sep 13 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Gerard Samson
    at Brookline
  • Thu Sep 20 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Gerard Samson
    at Brookline
  • Thu Sep 27 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Gerard Samson
    at Brookline
  • Thu Oct 04 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Gerard Samson
    at Brookline
  • Thu Oct 11 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Gerard Samson
    at Brookline
  • Thu Oct 18 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Gerard Samson
    at Brookline
  • Thu Oct 25 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Gerard Samson
    at Brookline
  • Thu Nov 01 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Gerard Samson
    at Brookline
  • Thu Nov 08 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Gerard Samson
    at Brookline
  • Thu Nov 15 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Gerard Samson
    at Brookline
  • Thu Nov 22 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Gerard Samson
    at Brookline
  • Thu Nov 29 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Gerard Samson
    at Brookline
  • Thu Dec 06 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Gerard Samson
    at Brookline
  • Thu Dec 13 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Gerard Samson
    at Brookline


Unused Content: