Slow Flow


This class is taught by:

Gerard Samson

Gerry Samson’s relationship with yoga has been an evolving and life-altering experience. Gerry rowed through college and devoted much of his body and time to the sport. Weight lifting and long training hours left his body broken down, and aches and pains developed, which followed him beyond college graduation. He began attending occasional community classes, but yoga felt contentious at first; the asana practice of yoga seemed out of reach for his body. However, as Gerry’s body began to accept his asana practice and he began to reap its benefits, yoga became a necessary part of his life. This love lead him to Ame Wren’s teacher training at Boston Yoga School, where he completed his 200-hour certification.

 

Gerry graduated with a B.A. in psychology and philosophy, and throughout college worked with children of various educational needs. When he graduated, he sought to keep working with children with special needs. During the day, he is a behavioral therapist for children with autism at a small special education school. He has found that yoga helps his students focus better throughout their day, and gives them an opportunity for body exploration that they don’t get in a regular school day. Just as yoga helped bring Gerry comfort in his own body, he hopes that by sharing yoga with kids and encouraging their own exploration of movement, they can become comfortable and confident in themselves.

 

Gerry aims to teach well-aligned postures throughout a thoughtful vinyasa sequence. He likes to take his time in his practice, exploring new movements and ways to experience a pose. His yoga is influenced by his teachers Ame Wren, Peter Crowley, and Nicole Clark, who are constantly changing his yoga experience.

Slow Flow is a mindful practice offering practitioners more opportunity to linger in postures and evaluate the body, its alignment, ease of breath, or useful modifications. Not just for beginners, slow flow will provide space for deeper connection to each posture with longer holds allowing for deeper mind body connection. While slow moving, be prepared for challenge and building internal heat.

Upcoming classes:

  • Wed Oct 17 10:45 am - 11:45 am with Gerard Samson
    at South End
  • Wed Oct 24 10:45 am - 11:45 am with Gerard Samson
    at South End
  • Wed Oct 31 10:45 am - 11:45 am with Gerard Samson
    at South End
  • Wed Nov 07 10:45 am - 11:45 am with Gerard Samson
    at South End
  • Wed Nov 14 10:45 am - 11:45 am with Gerard Samson
    at South End
  • Wed Nov 21 10:45 am - 11:45 am with Gerard Samson
    at South End
  • Wed Nov 28 10:45 am - 11:45 am with Gerard Samson
    at South End
  • Wed Dec 05 10:45 am - 11:45 am with Gerard Samson
    at South End
  • Wed Dec 12 10:45 am - 11:45 am with Gerard Samson
    at South End
  • Wed Dec 19 10:45 am - 11:45 am with Gerard Samson
    at South End
  • Wed Dec 26 10:45 am - 11:45 am with Gerard Samson
    at South End
  • Wed Jan 02 10:45 am - 11:45 am with Gerard Samson
    at South End
  • Wed Jan 09 10:45 am - 11:45 am with Gerard Samson
    at South End
  • Wed Jan 16 10:45 am - 11:45 am with Gerard Samson
    at South End
  • Wed Jan 23 10:45 am - 11:45 am with Gerard Samson
    at South End
  • Wed Jan 30 10:45 am - 11:45 am with Gerard Samson
    at South End
  • Wed Feb 06 10:45 am - 11:45 am with Gerard Samson
    at South End
  • Wed Feb 13 10:45 am - 11:45 am with Gerard Samson
    at South End


Unused Content: